Go Out From Your Land

“The Lord said to Abram: Go out from your land, your relatives, and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. ” (Genesis 12:1, HCSB)

As many of you might know by now, we’re moving to Atlanta so I can take a job with Metso Corporation as a Design Engineer for Capital Projects in their Wood Handling division.  I’ve been privileged to work with my Dad for 14 years at Graystone Engineering.  The economy has taken a toll on our industry and many engineers are looking for work.  Dad and I agreed a couple of months ago that I should start looking for work elsewhere since we don’t see an upswing in the economy any time soon.  I’m thankful that God has given me an opportunity to work right at the time of our need.  I know that many people have been looking for work for weeks if not months.

This move is difficult for a number of reasons.  The first challenge is the change in geography.  This transition will uproot our family that has been in the same place for 14 years.  Our children have never known another home.  Neither April or I have ever lived anywhere except Alabama.

The second challenge is the change to our relationships.  I’ve worked for my family since I graduated from college and see them nearly every day.  April is very close to her family and being just an hour away from them in Northport has seemed like being half way around the world.  We’ve made countless friends in Alabaster during our time here that we will miss dearly.  We’ve counted each person as a blessing to us.  God has used each one of you to enrich our lives and help us grow.

Lastly, we face the challenge of leaving our church.  I couldn’t have imagined what God would do in my life when He first called me into ministry and then called me to plant Mountain Valley Church.  I’ll never forget God’s work in the lives of people inside our church and in the community of Montevallo as He has transformed them by His grace and love.

God has taught me many lessons over the last few years.  I have come to realize that we are called to be obedient no matter how strange God’s will for us might be.  My eyes have been opened to the overwhelming need for laborers in the mission fields of this world (Matthew 9:38).  I’ve learned that church leadership is not limited to the professional clergy (Acts 4:13).   God has reminded me over the last few weeks that the church belongs to Him (Colossians 1:18).  He has shown me that some of us are called to plant, some to water, but God is responsible for the growth (1 Corinthians 3:5-9).  I’ve learned that we’re simply called to trust, obey, and give God all the glory.

Please be in prayer for our family in the days ahead.  I’ll start my new job on August 1st.  We have so much preparation ahead of us in such a very short time.  Please pray that our house will sell quickly and that we’ll find a new home soon (we’re looking at the Alpharetta, John’s Creek, or Suwannee area).  Please pray for our children as they face the fear of the unknown.  Please pray that God will pour out His wisdom, grace, and strength on us as we go out from our land.  Please pray for Mountain Valley Church as they decide what the future holds for them.

I”m sorry that this post is so roughly written – several days of working on the house until midnight has left me delirious!  We’ll do our best to keep everyone up to date on our transition.  We love you all and hope to see you soon!

4 thoughts on “Go Out From Your Land

  1. George you have been such a blessing to Dad & I. Your a great Engineer and Dad is really going to miss your help. You have your Specialties that Dad knows zero about ! Don''t know what God has in the future for Graystone Engineering , and Dad& mine future. But I do you God is in complete control. Nothing comes into our life that is not sifted through God's hand's first. Remember Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord.plans to prosper you and not harm you,plans to give you hope and a future. May God's grace & wisdom be with you. Will miss my grandbabies. Love you bunches Mom

    1. Mom, I appreciate you encouragement and support. You and Dad are a blessing to me too. We've always claimed that promise in Jeremiah 29:11 and can testify that it's true. I know God will take care of all of us. We'll make sure to see you as much as possible!! Love you!!

  2. I am enjoying seeing what God is doing in you and your family's life! I am so excited to hear all about your new adventures! I sure did enjoy visiting with you last week! Keep us updated!

    Love and prayers,
    Debra

Leave a Reply

